Loves redeeming work is done

‘Where, O death, is now thy sting?’

With Easter drawing near, I thought I’d share with you the lyrics to one of my favourite Easter hymns. It has happy memories for me as I sung it for my first chorister’s exam:

Love’s redeeming work is done,

fought the fight, the battle won.
Lo, our Sun’s eclipse is o’er!
Lo, he sets in blood no more!

Vain the stone, the watch, the seal!
Christ has burst the gates of hell;
death in vain forbids him rise;
Christ has opened paradise.

Lives again our victorious King;
where, O death, is now thy sting?
Dying once, he all doth save;
where thy victory, O grave?

Soar we now where Christ has led,
following out exalted Head;
made like him, like him we rise,
ours the cross, the grave, the skies.

Hail the Lord of earth and heaven!
Praise to thee by both be given:
thee we greet triumphant now;
hail, the Resurrection thou!

Words by Charles Wesley, with thanks to Oremus online hymnal.

***

The next few days are big in the Easter period, so join me for my last few posts in my 40 day Lent series.

4 thoughts on “Loves redeeming work is done

    1. Thank you so much! I have enjoyed the Lent series but I admit it has been hard work keeping it up, so it is lovely to hear that it has been helpful. The hymn is one of my top favourites and yes, the lyrics are brilliant. God bless and happy Easter! šŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment