My favourite hymn

‘You alone are my heart’s desire, and I long to worship you.’

My favourite hymn

Based on the words from Psalm 42, my favourite hymn is a metaphor for how much we need God in our lives. Without Him we are left ‘panting for water’, weak and ‘longing’. The last line sums up the fact that we need God ‘so much more than anything’. I hope you enjoy reading the beautiful lyrics:

As the deer pants for the water

So my soul longs after you

You alone are my heart’s desire

And I long to worship you

 

You alone are my strength, my shield

To you alone will my spirit yield

You alone are my hearts desire

And I long to worship you

 

I want you more than gold or silver

Only you can satisfy

You alone are the real joy giver

And the apple of my eye

 

You’re my friend and you are my Father

Even though you are my King

I love you more than any other

So much more than anything.

 

***

For more, please return tomorrow as I continue my 40 day Lent series.

4 thoughts on “My favourite hymn

Leave a Reply

