A Visit from Jesus

You will seek Me and find Me when you search for Me with all your heart. – Jeremiah 29:13

A Visit from Jesus

A question was thrown at me the other day:

If Jesus came to visit you in person, which day would you choose?

My immediate reaction was to think about the day I would be most free of commitments to be able to spend as much time with Him as possible… I mean, this would be a chance that may never come again! I would want as long as possible walking in this human dominated world with Jesus – God’s qualities in human form.

However, after more discussion, I realised that perhaps this was not such a great idea. On days when I am less busy I already have more time to reflect, pray, and search for Jesus’ presence myself. It is, in fact, on the days I am most busy that I can’t seem to find the time (or remember to make time!) to spend with Him.

This got me thinking – perhaps it would be better to invite Jesus to visit me on a day when I am busy and would usually struggle to see Him at work in my activities. I’d love to see how was best to fit Him into everything which I do as an integral part, rather than something on the bottom of my to-do list. He also might have some good advice and tips on how is best to go about a long day.

I wondered whether it would be best to stay at home and chat to Him one-to-one. This way I might have a hope of finding out and cherishing some of His wisdom and knowledge. On the other hand, it would be amazing to see some of His work out in the community. A place where God’s work is hardest to depict may be transformed in His presence.

After contemplating various responses for a while, I began to wonder about the purpose of the question. Jesus would not make a personal visit in human form to me, would He? Not impossible… but very unlikely.

It was only on my next busy day that I began to realise why this question was in fact so beneficial. Throughout my endless day I had a new spring in my step. In every element of my day I thought to myself,  I wonder what Jesus would do here. When I spoke to people, I took extra care to be jolly and kind, thoughtful and truly interested in what they were saying. When I was working, I thought about the attitude with which Jesus might approach it.

I tried to behave in the way which I imagine is closest to the way Jesus might.

It was the most rewarding thing to do. Not only did it make me constantly remember Jesus, but it also made the day much more bearable, satisfying, and overall made me approach it with a better attitude.

You will make known to me the path of life; In Your presence is fullness of joy; In Your right hand there are pleasures forever. – Psalm 16:11

We are so lucky and blessed – Jesus is with us everyday. He is there to offer advice – take it, and see what difference it makes.

***

6 thoughts on “A Visit from Jesus

  1. Yes – that question gets you thinking. I too would want Him to come on a busy day, walk with me and guide me. But then, He is with us everyday if we just look and ask. thanks for this reminder today. We can help others see Him also by our daily actions/words.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Absolutely – we are so blessed by His presence. Yes, Lent is good timing to start showing others Him through our actions. This morning I have already talked to a lady at the supermarket, due to the fact I had the ash cross on my forehead from the imposition this morning! It was lovely to be drawn together through this label of faith. My pleasure – may this lent bring many blessings! X

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

