Five Bible Verses for the New Year

Past, Present, Future

The idea of a fresh start is very exciting. We start the New Year with the ambition to create a better version of ourselves, learning from our own mistakes from the year we have just completed.

In this way, it is a time of reflection: What has been particularly special about this year? What have we achieved? On the other hand, negative thoughts can cloud our thinking: What bad things have happened? How has this year been worse than the previous ones?

I think in this way, the best question to ask ourselves after considering both the bad and the good things is: How can we make 2016 better? Perhaps resolutions would be helpful… or maybe (in my case) we still need to retry last year’s which have slipped as the year has gone on!

The easy thing to do now is to look on into the future and think… it looks great! Everything is planned out and looking perfect. The only problem is that our plans are not 100% reliable. It is easy to look on into the future and wait with anticipation for to what is to come, but the future never arrives. By the time we get there it will be present.

We also mustn’t dwell to long on what has gone. We cannot change the way things have played out in the last year. We can only hope to make things better this year.

The aim of this post is not to dampen anyone’s good plans to be a better person. What I am trying to say is that, this year, let us try to make the most of the present. Let us make daily resolutions and not give up after one slip and think, ‘oh well, I’ve failed now’ and no longer bother.

The past has already gone. The future will never come. The present is all we’ve got.

I have chosen five bible quotes which I think sum up the way I aspire to think in 2016. I hope to return to them frequently, to remind myself of the wisdom they offer.

“Remember not the former things, nor consider the things of old. Behold, I am doing a new thing; now it springs forth, do you not perceive it? I will make a way in the wilderness and rivers in the desert. – Isaiah 43:18-19

But one thing I do: forgetting what lies behind and straining forward to what lies ahead, I press on toward the goal for the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus.Philippians 3:13-14 

‘Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.’ – Matthew 6:34

Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation. The old has passed away; behold, the new has come. – 2 Corinthians 5:17

Repent therefore, and turn again, that your sins may be blotted out, that times of refreshing may come from the presence of the Lord, and that he may send the Christ appointed for you… – Acts 3:19-20

I hope you enjoy the thoughts these quotes spark as much as I do. One thing they confirm for me is this:

The future is not certain. The present is. Therefore we should be really thankful for the present.

In 2016, may we be thankful for every second God has given us, and never wish any of it away.

***

24 thoughts on “Five Bible Verses for the New Year

  1. Hi,
    You took a look at my blog, so I’ll take a peek at your’s. Although I am not religious, I can see why this blog would be very pleasing and useful to those who are. You blog looks professional and attractive, and most importantly, it’s well-written! It makes you want to read it. Just keep going the way you’re going.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Thank you for this post, Mount. As you know, my husband and I just moved, due to a business/job opportunity. We have to start over, completely from scratch, in every single way. It is both scary and exciting. Obviously, God knows we can do this, because we almost lost the opportunity, but after praying for about fifteen minutes, the phone rang and it was still available. Obviously, this is meant for my husband and I. We do not know how we will do it, but, I am sure God will make sure that we can. 🙂

    This post is inspirational. Thanks for including the Bible verses.

    Brightest Blessings to You! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you! Yes, God is very apparent in your situation and I am sure He is working in His own way to make sure that this is the best thing for you – after all, faith is all about challenges! Thank you for reading – I’m pleased you enjoyed the bible versus… I thought they were particularly inspiring for the New Year, and so far I have been immersing myself in their teachings! 🙂
      May God bless you and your husband at this time and throughout the year too! x

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You are most welcome! Keep us in your prayers!

        The New Year is a good time for a fresh start. I will just have to hold on for dear life to God and my faith. All with the hope of being successful and financially stable for life.

        May you and your family ALWAYS be blessed too.

        Liked by 2 people

  3. You really never fail to put a smile on my face every time you post something. I just brought out my notebook and just started copying the Bible verses because they were beautiful. I have written something in my blog a bit similar to this, and it was also about just being positive about the future. But the present, yes, is beautiful. I have really rough times last year, as I know many of us have, but I am extremely thankful for another year given to me. One thing I decided to start on this year is buckle down and chase my dreams. I promised I will do what I can, and just surrender everything else to Him. Also, I am trying this new thing on decorative planners which I am really enjoying! I hope you have had a wonderful start of the year. God bless you!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you so much! I am delighted you liked the Bible verses as much as I did! That is a wonderful mind-set for the New Year. He wants us to do what we can to follow our dreams, and you dependence on Him is perfect and essential. Perhaps a bad year helps us to relish in one better in comparison, and not take anything good for granted but enjoy it?
      I will be sure to have a look at your post!
      I hope you have a Blessed year also! x 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Happy New year and thank you. I always enjoy reading your blog. I love the verse from Matthew!
    I’m ashamed to say that when I first started reading your blog, I had assumed that you were a man (goodness knows why?!?) Apologies for that! Stay safe and stay happy 🙂 xx

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

