A Spiritual Writer’s Block

‘For who is God besides the LORD? And who is the Rock except our God? It is God who arms me with strength and makes my way perfect.’ – 2 Samuel 22:32-33

Describing Faith: A Spiritual Writer’s Block

Does anyone recognise the feeling when you think you know exactly what something is like, but you can’t find the words to say or write it down?

I think this is a more familiar feeling to me than writer’s block. I often know exactly what I want to say, but when I write the words down it seems clumsy.

I think faith is the same.

What is faith?

How do you answer that question? It is something which you can’t physically see or touch, but inside you can definitely feel and see it. However, if someone asked me to draw what I see faith to be I would have no idea where to start. I would probably end up drawing something very clichéd and predictable, like a cross or someone praying, nothing like my faith at all.

Faith is not predictable. Faith is not clichéd.

Faith is something that is very personal. One person’s faith is totally unknown to another person. In fact, I don’t think we even completely know what our own faith is like! We are on a constant road of discovery to uncover what it really is all about.

The same thing can be the case when you are asked about your relationship with God. ‘How do you even know He exists?’ I was once asked. I was speechless… I was about to say ‘I just do’, but that seemed a bit pathetic, even though it was probably the most truthful answer I could have said. I knew inside me that God is there all the time, listening and understanding. His presence was so clear to me, but also so indescribable. Why then to justify His existence did I feel I needed scientific evidence to prove my answer?

It is a hard one to sum up as I still don’t know how to describe what faith really is. What I do know though is that faith is amazing, and I couldn’t live without it. It would be like having one of my crucial organs removed. I would be without soul, strength, and spiritual breath. All of these things come from Him. He is my faith.

He is your faith too.

***

22 thoughts on “A Spiritual Writer’s Block

  1. Absolutely agree! I don’t mean any disrespect to anyone, but personally, I am not a religious person, I am spiritual and I believe in leading a good, honest life. Every time I face hardships, I realize that there is something inside me that keeps me strong, keeps me positive, makes me want to fight a good fight and believe that there is a good reason for everything and I will soon see it. I guess that is my faith 🙂

    Liked by 3 people

      1. Sorry I couldn’t reply sooner! That’s the beauty of being human, we are different but alike and if only we could all be more accepting of the differences, and embrace the likeness, world would be a much better place, don’t you think! Thank you for sharing 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad you are so honest but, I have to say their really is no faith with out God our creator. Faith is meaningless without God in the center. And trust me, you want God at the center of your life. He will take you through an adventure never to be forgotten 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

  2. I remember I would alway say that I had faith in God, but looking back now I see it was only on a superficial level. I exhausted everything and and every situation to help myself and nothing worked. When I had nothing left to lose I turned to God as a last resort. (Should not have been that way.) It was then that God turned my life around. He showed me a different way of thinking. That was the beginning of my faith…. but you’re right. There are many levels to faith and it is to be a daily exercise, taking us from one level to another.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

