Innumerable as Sand: a poem

‘How precious also are thy thoughts unto me, O God! how great is the sum of them! If I should count them, they are more in number than the sand: when I awake, I am still with thee.’ – Psalm 139:17-18

I wrote this poem after reading this bible verse:

‘Through faith also Sara herself received strength to conceive seed, and was delivered of a child when she was past age, because she judged him faithful who had promised. Therefore sprang there even of one, and him as good as dead, so many as the stars of the sky in multitude, and as the sand which is by the sea shore innumerable.’ – Hebrews 11:11-12

It filled me with hope. If we put our true faith in the Lord, He shall do great things for us in return. There are many references to various bible stories in this poem. I found that by expanding on a the central themes of sand, trust and hope there are so many links throughout the bible that it was hard to select which ones to use! I hope that somewhere in the poem it will touch or inspire you to be confident in your faith.

Innumerable as Sand

One day, I called right out to the Lord,

‘How precious Your thoughts are to me,

That if I should ever count them,

They’d outnumber the sand in the sea.

My well-being would be like a river,

And my righteousness waves calm or high;

My descendants would be like the sand,

And my offspring minute grains like I.

We’d be numbered as stars in heaven,

Innumerable as sand by the shore;

Our name would never be threatened,

Nor our race destroyed evermore.

Someone will always be foolish,

As the man who built home on the sand;

But whilst the ground sinks, like Noah

On Christ’s solid rock, I stand.

Though people united are sedimentary,

And congregated they can learn:

They will disperse on lunar tides,

For only remnants to return:

As prodigal child is welcomed,

Or one lost sheep is found;

Destruction is always determined,

Like a grain lost on desert ground.

With faith, miracles happen,

As old Sarah conceived a son.

Meet unique, ornamental humming shells,

Don’t count days ‘til sands’ cycle’s done.

Think about the oyster,

Turning grains of sand to pearl;

Too often we are the opposite,

And through greed make talent unfurl.

When life’s waves crash with turmoil,

And harbouring ship erupts bay:

I know there was one set of footprints,

Because You carried me all the way.

As when a proud sandcastle,

Is crushed by dusk’s waves alone:

Leave the bad times written in the sand,

And the good things scribe in stone.’

***

4 thoughts on “Innumerable as Sand: a poem

Leave a Reply

